Central Oregon

It seems like the closer we get to our trip coming to a close, the faster the days seem to go! I’m realizing we’re a week behind on blogging already.

Last week, after leaving the coast, we spent a day in Eugene visiting with my extended family which was super great. I haven’t seen any of them since I was 16! (Loved seeing you guys! Xoxo)

We took the scenic route up and over the Cascades and saw some amazing lava flows! Its pretty incredible to come out of the trees and see a huge expanse of barren earth, covered in black pumice stone. There’s an observatory at the top of McKenzie pass that looks like a castle! McKenzie got to play in her namesake river and was not dissapointed.

We spent a few days with my mom who lives on a farm a little north of Bend. It was so good to see her and her husband and to relax in the AC for a 100° heat wave! We spent a day in Bend and visited Deschutes Brewery where I actually tried a flight (with help of course!) Before we left on Saturday, we went to the farmer’s market and convinced my mom to come home with two free kittens (not gonna lie, Cayenne and Chipotle may be the highlight of my trip!)

We spent a night camped near Mt Bachelor and it was insanely buggy. Our original plan had been to explore the Sparks Lake area, but the mixture of bugs and car problems induced by driving nearly 6k in a month chased us back to Bend. It was fortuitous though, because we ended up at Tumalo Falls which is insanely cool!  Its a 97′ waterfall with three vantage points. You can watch it head on, climb up and look at it from above, or climb down a sketchy, unmarked trail and stand behind it in the mist. It was so cool to look up at a waterfall from behind and see all the rainbows from the light filtering through and get misted on. We found a great camping spot near the creek and spent the afternoon reading with our chairs in the water, drinking hard cider.

The constant cloud cover and showers that plagued the first few weeks of our trip have been replaced by relentless sun and clear skies. We’ve finally gotten several chances to go stargazing, which is one of my favorite activities. I love looking up and seeing the vastness of it all. It makes me feel so small and insignificant. I know that’s a strange feeling to love, but I like knowing that the decisions I struggle with, my problems and feelings are truly inconsiquental. We are itty bitty pieces on the story of space and time and I feel fortunate knowing that my life was given to me to be used to the fullest. Its all gonna work out, no matter the path I may take. OK…rambling over!

We are headed a bit south now before we mosey on home. It is hot and dry and we are taxing the car’s AC and swiftly filling up a Dutch Bros punch card before we leave the West Coast. We’re a little homesick and a lot dirty and can’t wait to see all you beautiful people in Colorado. We won’t even complain about the drivers. Oregon’s are worse!

Xoxo,
Mikaela

image
Sunset over Jefferson at my mom's place
image
A beautiful, but buggy camp
image
Kitties!

image

Author: mikaelaruland

I'm a twenty something living the wanderlust life in Colorado with my boyfriend and dog. During the week, I'm a Marketing Manager but when the clock hits 5, I'm an adventurer, a traveler, a hiker, a climber, a skier, a blogger, a photographer. Live the adventure life, you won't regret it.

Leave a Reply

